Lua 5.4
Автор Сообщение
Falco Girgis Не на форуме
Новичок

Рейтинг: 0
Сказал спасибо: 2
Поблагодарили 11 раз(а) в 3 сообщ.
Lua 5.4
Greetings! First of all, I'm a big fan of DreamShell as both a user who has enjoyed its features and as a developer who has a lot of respect for how ambitious and impressive the project and its codebase are! The module system is really very well architected, and I find it really impressive work too.

I'm also a fellow Lua developer and enthusiast and wanted to run something by you. I noticed that the Lua version included within DreamShell is only version 5.1, I believe. I'm not sure if you've ever considered upgrading or have had any interest in it. It's true that a few things might have to change, involving how the ENV variable works for sandboxed scripts, but I wanted to make you aware of a few things that I've found really beneficial with current Lua 5.4 and Dreamcast:

1) Performance
It's actually quite hard to find any good benchmarks between Lua versions that aren't just LuaJIT, but in my research, it seems as though Lua5.4 performs the best of the modern Lua revisions, and is definitely the faster than 5.2 and 5.3: https://eklausmeier.goip.de/blog/2020/05...-5-4-vs-c/

2) Builtin Integral Types
Starting with Lua5.3, Lua now supports integers as first-party types, so all numbers no longer have to be floats. This has performance and precision implications, but for us its also very useful for when you're binding low-level code that tends to require bitwise operation and arithmetic. Bitwise operators are now supported within the language itself: https://www.lua.org/manual/5.4/manual.html#3.4.2 and don't require external libraries or bindings to do it in C.

3) List of New Features
Here's a high-level list of new features for each revision from Lua's site which you might be interested in:

Lua 5.2:
  • yieldable pcall and metamethods
  • new lexical scheme for globals
  • ephemeron tables
  • light C functions